Ticket Office Information
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Merch Madness
Five JMU Women's Lacrosse Players Receive CAA Postseason Recognition
Courtesy:JMUSports.com Release:05/04/2011
Courtesy: JMUSports.com
TOWSON, Md., May 4, 2011 -- Four James Madison lacrosse players have earned all-conference honors and another has won all-rookie recognition from the Colonial Athletic Association.

The All-CAA Teams, selected in a vote by the league's head coaches, were announced at an awards banquet held on Wednesday evening at Towson University on the eve of the CAA Tournament semifinals.

Senior attacker Mary Kate Lomady (Abington, Pa./Abington) and redshirt sophomore attacker Casey Ancarrow (Jarrettsville, Md./John Carroll) were named to the All-CAA First Team, and junior midfielder Annie Brophy (Berwyn, Pa./Archbishop Carroll) and junior defender Cally Chakrian (East Meadow, N.Y./East Meadow) were selected to the All-CAA Second Team.  Redshirt freshman attacker Megan Piotrowicz (Plymouth Meeting, Pa./Plymouth-Whitemarsh) was chosen to the CAA All-Rookie Team.

Lomady leads the Dukes in free-position goals (10), is second on team in goals (34) and points (48) and is tied for second in assists (14) and caused turnovers (12).  She won All-CAA First Team recognition for the second year in a row.

Ancarrow, a Tewaaraton Trophy nominee, leads JMU in goals (40) and points (54) and is tied second in assists (14).  The U.S. Team member was an All-CAA Second Team honoree last season.

Brophy is the team's leader in caused turnovers (15) and ranks second in ground balls.  She earned All-CAA honors for the first time.

Chakrian has the top draw controls total (39) on the team and is tied second on the team in caused turnovers (12).  She was an All-CAA First Team honoree in 2010.

Piotrowicz has played in 10 games this season and has three goals and four assists this spring.

William and Mary swept the individual player honors as senior midfielder Grace Golden was selected as the Player of the Year, senior defender Sarah Jonson was named as Defensive Player of the Year and freshman attacker Taelor Salmon was voted as CAA Rookie of the Year.  Towson head coach Sonia LaMonica was chosen as CAA Coach of the Year.

Golden leads the league in seven statistical categories while ranking second in the country with 2.75 caused turnovers per game and 12th nationally with 3.25 goals per contest.

Jonson won the Defensive Player of the Year honor for the second straight season. She owns the school career record in caused turnovers with 134.

Salmon had 20 goals and 24 points in her freshman campaign.

In just her first season at the helm of the Tigers, LaMonica has guided Towson to a 10-6 overall record and the top seed at this week's conference championship.

The CAA Championship begins on Thursday at Towson's Johnny Unitas Stadium. The tournament's first semifinal game features the top-seeded Tigers against fourth-seeded Drexel at 5:00 p.m.  Second-seeded JMU will meet third-seeded William and Mary in the evening's second semifinal at 7:30 p.m.  The winners will vie for the CAA title and the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament on Saturday at 5:00 p.m.

Admission to the CAA Championship is $6.00 for adults and $4.00 for all youth ages 12 and under. Students from the participating institutions will receive free admission with a valid college ID.


Name, School, Year, Position, Hometown/Previous School
First Team
Casey Ancarrow, James Madison, R-So., Attacker, Jarrettsville, Md./John Carroll
Lisa Bernardini, Old Dominion, Jr., Midfielder, Langhorne, Pa./George School
Alexa Demski, Towson, So., Defender, Baltimore, Md./Loch Raven
Jess Dunn, Towson, Sr., Attacker, Forest Hill, Md./Fallston
Grace Golden, William and Mary, Sr., Midfielder, Manhasset, N.Y./Sacred Heart
Katie Hertsch, Hofstra, Sr., Defender, Westminster, Md./Winter Mills
Sarah Jonson, William and Mary, Sr., Defender, Dallas, Texas/The Hockaday School
Mary Kate Lomady, James Madison, Sr., Attacker, Abington, Pa./Abington
Jill Maier, Hofstra, So., Midfielder, Honeoye Falls, N.Y./Honeoye Falls-Lima
Kalyn McDonough, Delaware, Jr., Midfielder, Kennett Square, Pa./Unionville
Mary Teeters, Towson, Jr., Goalkeeper, Ellicott City, Md./Centennial
Ashley Waldron, Towson, So., Midfielder, Clay, N.Y./Cicero North Syracuse

Second Team
Sarah Bauer, Drexel, Sr., Defender, West Chester, Pa./West Chester East
Annie Brophy, James Madison, Jr., Midfielder, Berwyn, Pa./Archbishop Carroll
Cally Chakrian, James Madison, Jr., Defender, East Meadow, N.Y./East Meadow
Megan Fitzgerald, Towson, Sr., Defender, Bowie, Md./Archbishop Spalding
Chelsea Gamble, George Mason, Sr., Midfielder, Moorestown, N.J./Moorestown
Sarah Geary, Old Dominion, Jr., Goalkeeper, Springfield, Pa./Springfield
Ashley Holofcener, William and Mary, Sr., Attacker, Baltimore, Md./St. Paul's School
Julianna Jeffers, Delaware, Sr., Attacker, Springfield, Pa./Springfield
Jackie LaMonica, Towson, Jr., Midfielder, Parkton, Md./Hereford
Morgan Leonard, Delaware, So., Midfielder, Sykesville, Md./Liberty
Molly Wannen, William and Mary, Sr., Midfielder, Silver Spring, Md./James H. Blake
Charlotte Wood, Drexel, Jr., Attacker, Paoli, Pa./Conestoga

All-Rookie Team
Name, School, Year, Position, Hometown
Alex Alois, Delaware, Fr., Defender, Andover, Mass./Andover
Bridget Burns, Delaware, Fr., Midfielder, Newtown Square, Pa./Notre Dame
Rhiannon Coogle, Towson, Fr., Attacker, Forest Hill, Md./North Harford
Anna Kopecka, George Mason, Fr., Attacker, Prague, Czech Republic/T.C. Williams
Kelly Murkey, Towson, Fr., Midfielder, Westminster, Md./Westminster
Amanda Norcini, Drexel, Fr., Midfielder, Wayne, Pa./Conestoga
Megan Piotrowicz, James Madison, Fr., Attacker, Plymouth Meeting, Pa./Plymouth-Whitemarsh
Taelor Salmon, William and Mary, Fr., Attacker, Fort Washington, Md./St. Stephens & St. Agnes
Katie Stillwell, William and Mary, R-Fr., Midfielder, Chantilly, Va./Chantilly
Jenn Ward, Hofstra, Fr., Attacker, Fallston, Md./Fallston

2011 CAA Player of the Year: Grace Golden, William and Mary

2011 CAA Defensive Player of the Year:
Sarah Jonson, William and Mary
2011 CAA Rookie of the Year:
Taelor Salmon, William and Mary
2011 CAA Coach of the Year:
Sonia LaMonica, Towson

Back to Women's Lacrosse
JMU Marketplace
TicketsOnline StoreAuctionsPhoto StoreMobile
Social Connection
Sign up for E-News