Ticket Office Information
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Merch Madness
Courtesy:JMUSports.com Release:04/25/2011
Courtesy: JMUSports.com
HARRISONBURG, Va., April 25, 2011 -- Two members of the 2010 James Madison women's lacrosse team were finalists for the top awards presented by JMU Intercollegiate Athletics for 2010-11.

Morgan Kelly (Annapolis, Md./St. Mary's) was a finalist for the Gary '81 & Fredericka (Cookie) McCollum JMU 2010-11 Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year award.

Kim Griffin (Jarrettsville, Md./North Harford) was a finalist for the JMU 2010-11 Female Athlete of the Year honor.

The award winner and finalists were recognized Monday night at the annual JMU student-athlete awards banquet.

Kelly, a 2010 JMU graduate, was the starting goalkeeper on JMU's Colonial Athletic Association champion and NCAA quarterfinalist team last spring.  That team won a school-record 17 games and finished the year with a 17-3 record.

She led the nation in goals-against average (6.87) and ranked fifth nationally in save percentage (.508) in 2010.  Kelly was selected to the IWLCA All-America Third Team and the IWLCA All-South Second Team.  She earned All-CAA First Team honors and was voted the Most Outstanding Player at the CAA Tournament.

As a JMU undergraduate Kelly was a Dean's List student who majored in kinesiology with a concentration in sport and recreation management.  She also completed undergraduate minors in business and human resource development.

Griffin, a midfielder who completed her eligibility in 2010, was named to three All-America Teams last spring and was among the nominees for the 2010 Tewaaraton Trophy for the nation's top player.  The three-time All-Colonial Athletic Association selection led the CAA champion Dukes in points (61), ground balls (39) and caused turnovers (21) and ranked second on the team in assists (23) and third in goals (38).

Griffin, who was named to 36-member 2010-11 U.S. Team last August, completed her undergraduate studies at JMU in May 2009, when she received her bachelor's degree in accounting.

Volleyball player Lindsay Callahan received the McCollum Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor, and basketball player Dawn Evans was the recipient of the Female Athlete of the Year award.

NOTE:  Athletes who competed in the spring 2010 season were eligible for the 2010-11 JMU awards.

Back to Women's Lacrosse
JMU Marketplace
TicketsOnline StoreAuctionsPhoto StoreMobile
Social Connection
Sign up for E-News