Ticket Office Information
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Merch Madness
Ali Curwin played for Israel in the 2013 Lacrosse World CupCourtesy: Risley Sports Photography
Current and Former Dukes Shine at 2013 Lacrosse World Cup
Courtesy:JMUSports.com Release:07/31/2013
OSHAWA, Canada, July 31, 2013 – Rising junior midfielder Ali Curwin (Pittsford, N.Y./Pittsford Sutherland) and four former James Madison student-athletes represented the Dukes on four separate 2013 Lacrosse World Cup (July 11-20) teams, including the world champion United States and second-place Canada squads.

The tournament opened July 11 with 19 teams competing in six days of pool play (three pools of five teams, one pool of four teams).  The top 12 teams coming out of pool play advanced to the single-elimination championship bracket while the remaining seven teams competed for place in the diamond bracket.

Former JMU Duke Kelly Berger helped the United States team win its second straight world title and seventh overall.  Berger closed out the tournament with six goals and three assists for nine total points as well as five caused turnovers and six ground balls.

Curwin led Israel to the quarterfinal round of the championship bracket, a 17-5 loss to eventual silver-medalist Canada.  Her world cup performances included a four-goal effort in Israel’s round-one upset of #7 New Zealand, a game which earned her Player of the Match distinction.  She tallied 15 total goals throughout the tournament, with Israel finishing the tournament in eighth place.  Elyssa Rosenbaum, a former JMU gymnast, was also on the roster.

Canada and former JMU standout Brooke McKenzie Eubanks notched their highest finish ever at the world cup as they took home the silver medal following a 19-5 loss to team USA in the championship game.  Eubanks finished the tournament with five goals.  Lucy Lynch finished in fourth place on England’s squad and saw two shots enter the net during the event.

The International Federation of Women’s Lacrosse Associations began staging the Women’s Lacrosse World Cup in 1982, hosted in Nottingham, England.  The IFWLA merged with the International Lacrosse Federation in 2007 and formed the Federation of International Lacrosse, which now governs the championship.

The next world championship for women’s lacrosse will be held in 2017 in Guildford, England.
Back to Football
JMU Marketplace
TicketsOnline StoreAuctionsPhoto StoreMobile
Social Connection
Sign up for E-News