Ticket Office Information
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Merch Madness
Courtesy: JMUSports.com
Men's Basketball's Devon Moore a Candidate for Cousy Award
Courtesy:JMUSports.com Release:12/21/2012

HARRISONBURG, Va., Dec. 20, 2012 - James Madison redshirt senior Devon Moore (Columbus, Ohio/Northland) was one of 85 student-athletes announced on Thursday as candidates for the 2013 Bob Cousy Award as the top point guard in men's college basketball.  The honor is handed out by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass.

Moore, who was also on the watch list early in his sophomore season (2009-10), has elevated his production in recent weeks to begin his final season in strong fashion.  Most recently, he was honored as CAA Player of the Week for pouring in 22 points, nine rebounds, seven assists and three steals in a home win over UNCG.  He was also honored for his performance by NetScouts and CollegeSportsMadness.

For the season, he leads the CAA with 4.7 assists per game, a pace that would top the JMU career assists record (463).  He also ranks third in the league for assists/turnover ratio (1.57) and steals per game (2.2) and sits in the top 20 for scoring with 10.9 points per game.  He has 15 steals over the last four games and has reached five assists in eight of 10 contests.

A 19-point performance on Dec. 8 against Richmond made Moore the 26th player in program history to reach 1,000 points, currently sitting 23rd with 1,038.  He also has 377 assists, 94 steals and 339 rebounds in his career.

Moore was one of three Colonial Athletic Association representatives on the 85-player list.  He was joined by Drexel's Frantz Massenat and Georgia State's Delonta White.

"The Bob Cousy Award promotes the values of leadership, determination, and teamwork, all skills needed on the basketball court and in life," said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). "Mr. Cousy exemplified all of these traits, and inspired so many people on and off the court. We hope that this coveted award continues to honor his legacy."

This watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 around January 1st, final 10 near February 1st, and final five by approximately March 1st. A premier selection committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the final five candidates in contention for the nation's top collegiate point guard award. These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Championship Monday in Atlanta as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (a Matt Brady protégé at Saint Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and last year's recipient Kendall Marshall (North Carolina). For more information on the 2013 Bob Cousy, log onto www.CousyAward.com.

2013 Bob Cousy Award Candidates


Player Name

School Name

Jahii Carson

Arizona State University

Pierre Jackson

Baylor University

Kerron Johnson

Belmont University

Rotnei Clarke

Butler University

Kwame Vaughn

Cal State Fullerton

Trey Freeman

Campbell University

Andrew Lawrence

College of Charleston

Brian Barbour

Columbia University

JP Kuhlman

Davidson College

Frantz Massenat

Drexel University

Quinn Cook

Duke University

Miguel Paul

East Carolina University

Derek Needham

Fairfield University

Montay Brandon

Florida State University

Devonta White

Georgia State University

Kevin Pangos

Gonzaga University

Siyani Chambers

Harvard University

Jordan Hulls

Indiana University

Jake Odum

Indiana State University

Korie Lucious

Iowa State University

Devon Moore

James Madison University

Tyreek Duren

La Salle University

C.J. McCollum

Lehigh University

Mackey McKnight

Lehigh University

Anthony Ireland

Loyola Marymount University

Cully Payne

Loyola University Chicago

Michael Alvarado

Manhattan College

Keith Appling

Michigan State University

Isaiah Canaan

Murray State University

Lorenzo Brown

NC State University

Juan'ya Green

Niagara University

Stallon Saldivar

Northern Arizona University

Aaron Craft

Ohio State University

D.J. Cooper

Ohio University

Marcus Smart

Oklahoma State University

Ahmad Starks

Oregon State University

Dylan Garrity

Sacramento State

Kwamain Mitchell

Saint Louis University

Mike McCall Jr.

Saint Louis University

Xavier Thames

San Diego State

Evan Roquemore

Santa Clara University

Nate Wolters

South Dakota State University

Neil Watson

Southern Mississippi

Matthew Dellavedova

St. Mary's College

Chasson Randle

Stanford University

Anthony Jackson

Stony Brook University

Michael Carter-Williams

Syracuse University

Kyan Anderson


Johnathan Jordan

Texas A&M - Corpus Christi

Ricky Tarrant

Tulane University

Anthony Marshall


Trevor Releford

University of Alabama

Mark Lyons

University of Arizona

BJ Young

University of Arkansas

Justin Cobbs

University of California

Spencer Dinwiddie

University of Colorado

Shabazz Napier

University of Connecticut

Kevin Dillard

University of Dayton

Ray McCallum

University of Detroit Mercy

Troy Taylor

University of Evansville

Kenny Boynton

University of Florida

Scottie Wilbekin

University of Florida

Elijah Johnson

University of Kansas

Peyton Siva

University of Louisville

Pe'Shon Howard

University of Maryland

Chaz Williams

University of Massachusetts

Shane Larkin

University of Miami

Trey Burke

University of Michigan

Andre Hollins

University of Minnesota

Phil Pressey

University of Missouri

Deonte Burton

University of Nevada

Hugh Greenwood

University of New Mexico

Kendall Williams

University of New Mexico

Dexter Strickland

University of North Carolina

Eric Atkins

University of Notre Dame

Tray Woodall

University of Pittsburgh

Bruce Ellington

University of South Carolina

LaShay Page

University of South Carolina

Anthony Collins

University of South Florida

Trae Golden

University of Tennessee

Abdul Gaddy

University of Washington

Erick Green

Virginia Tech University

Trey Sumler

Western Carolina University

Malcolm Armstead

Wichita State University

Kendrick Perry

Youngstown State University

Back to Football
JMU Marketplace
TicketsOnline StoreAuctionsPhoto StoreMobile
Social Connection
Sign up for E-News