Ticket Office Information
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Merch Madness
Pat Williams (left) and Dae'Quan Scott were finalists for the JMU AthleticCourtesy: JMUSports.com
Football's Williams, Scott Finalists for Annual Athletic Department Awards
Courtesy:JMUSports.com Release:04/23/2012

HARRISONBURG, Va. - James Madison football standouts Pat Williams and Dae'Quan Scott were recognized as finalists for the JMU Athletic Department's annual awards at a banquet held on campus, April 23. Williams was a finalist for the Gary ('81) and Fredericka (Cookie) McCollum Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, while Scott was finalist for the JMU Male Athlete of the Year honor.

Williams had been previously honored by the JMU football team as co-winner of the Senior Scholar-Athlete Award, as well as co-winner of the Bob Yetzer Memorial Award, presented annually to a JMU football player who best exemplifies the characteristics of determination, dedication and leadership. Williams, from Virginia Beach, Va., was a Second Team All-CAA pick at linebacker after starting all 13 games and recording 82 total tackles (second for JMU) with 8.5 tackles for loss while leading the Dukes to the second round of the NCAA Division I Football Championship. The computer information systems major was a two-time CAA Commissioner's Academic Award winner as well as a three-time member of the Athletic Director's Honor Roll.

A native of Staunton, Va., Scott was the Dean Ehlers Award winner for the football program as the Most Valuable Performer. Named Second-Team All-CAA asa both a running back and punt returner, Scott rushed for 1,241 yards and 12 touchdowns on 220 carries, while adding 10 catches for 83 yards and a touchdown. A key part of JMU's run to the NCAA Playoff Second Round, Scott ranks fifth in school history for single-season rushing yards with 1,241 and fourth for rushing touchdowns in a season with 12. Scott rushed for a career-high and team season-high 251 rushing yards and 11th 200-yard game in school history, which was the second-most single-game rushing yards in school history.

Adam Bastidas from men's soccer was recognized as the Gary ('81) and Fredericka (Cookie) McCollum Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year , while baseball's Jake Lowery, the reigning Johnny Bench Award winner as National Catcher of the Year, was the JMU Male Athlete of the Year.

Back to Football
JMU Marketplace
TicketsOnline StoreAuctionsPhoto StoreMobile
Social Connection
Sign up for E-News