Ticket Office Information
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Merch Madness
JMU Women's Basketball's Evans is Dukes' First Two-Time All-America
Courtesy:JMUSports.com Release:03/29/2011
Courtesy: JMUSports.com

HARRISONBURG, Va., March 29, 2011 -- Four times in the past five years a JMU women's basketball player has earned Associated Press All-America Honorable Mention.

On Tuesday, senior guard Dawn Evans (Clarksville, Tenn./Northeast) became the first Duke to win the award twice.

Evans, who also earned AP All-America honorable mention in 2010. averaged 23.1 points per game this season.  She completed her career as both JMU and the Colonial Athletic Association's all-time leading scorer with 2,667 career points.  Evans was named the Most Outstanding Player at the CAA Tournament the past two seasons and was a unanimous selection as 2011 CAA Player of the Year.

Other JMU players to receive AP All-America honorable mention were Meredith Alexis in 2007 and Tamera Young in 2008.

On Tuesday, Evans also was named to the Eastern College Athletic Conference All-Star First Team. 

2010-11 Women's Basketball AP All-America Team
First Team
Maya Moore, Connecticut
Brittney Griner, Baylor
Jantel Lavender, Ohio State
Danielle Adams, Texas A&M
Jeanette Pohlen, Stanford
Second Team
Danielle Robinson, Oklahoma
Amber Harris, Xavier
Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga
Nnemka Ogwumike, Stanford
Jasmine Thomas, Duke
Third Team
Shekinna Strickland, Tennessee
Shenise Johnson, Miami (Fla.)
Victoria Dunlap, Kentucky
Ta'Shia Phillips, Xavier
Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame
Honorable Mention
Kachine Alexander, Iowa
Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee
Kelsey Bolte, Iowa State
Jessica Breland, North Carolina
Cierra Brevard, Florida State
Kourtney Brown, Buffalo
Sydney Colson, Texas A&M
Jasmine Dixon, UCLA
Elena Delle Donne, Delaware
Dawn Evans, James Madison
Shante Evans, Hofstra
Briana Gilbreth, Southern California
Keisha Hampton, DePaul
Tiffany Hayes, Connecticut
Courtney Hurt, Virginia Commonwealth
Ify Ibukwe, Arizona
Amy Jaeschke, Northwestern
Jericka Jenkins, Hampton
Adrienne Johnson, Louisiana Tech
Melissa Jones, Baylor
Kalisha Keane, Michigan State
Kevi Luper, Oral Roberts
Deirdre Naughton, DePaul
Yinka Olorunnife, Idaho
Kayla Pedersen, Stanford
Jaime Printy, Iowa
Jence Rhoads, Vanderbilt
Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown
Odyssey Sims, Baylor
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee
Carolyn Swords, Boston College
Riquna Williams, Miami

2010-11 Eastern College Athletic Conference All-Stars
First Team
Maya Moore, Connecticut
Carolyn Swords, Boston College
Dawn Evans, James Madison
Jasmine Thomas, Duke
Erica Allenspach, Marist
Second Team
Courtney Hurt, Virginia Commonwealth
Elena Delle Donne, Delaware
Shante Evans, Hofstra
Serena Moore, Siena
Tiffany Hayes, Connecticut
Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown
Player of the Year:  Maya Moore, Connecticut
Rookie of the Year:  Alyssa Thomas, Maryland

Back to Women's Basketball
JMU Marketplace
TicketsOnline StoreAuctionsPhoto StoreMobile
Social Connection
Sign up for E-News