Ticket Office Information
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Merch Madness
Tarik Hislop (#22) shared the team MVP award with Kirby Burkholder (#20).Courtesy: Photography/JMU Athletics Communications
Women's Basketball Team Awards Announced
Courtesy:JMUSports.com Release:04/23/2013

HARRISONBURG, Va., April 23, 2012 -- The 2012-13 JMU women's basketball team awards have been announced and are as follows:

Most Valuable Player Award:  Co-recipients: senior guard Tarik Hislop (Silver Spring, Md./Paint Branch), junior guard Kirby Burkholder (Bridgewater, Va./Turner Ashby).   

Hislop, a team captain and JMU's starting point guard, led the Dukes in scoring (16.4) and assists (3.5).  Burkholder was the team leader in rebounds (9.1) and steals (1.6).  Both players were All-Colonial Athletic Association First Team selections. 

Hustle Award:  Tarik Hislop

Most Improved Award; Attitude Award:
  Redshirt freshman Jazmon Gwathmey (Bealeton, Va./Liberty).  Gwathmey worked her way into the starting lineup and averaged 6.2 points and 5.5 rebounds a game.  She was selected to the CAA All-Rookie Team.

Courage Award:  Sophomore forward Toia Giggetts (Norfolk, Va./Lake Taylor) overcame some early-season injuries to start 30 games and average 7.5 points and 6.4 rebounds a game.

Most Spirited Award:
  Freshman guard Angela Mickens (Staunton, Va./Robert E. Lee).  Mickens played in 28 games and averaged 2.8 points per game.  In JMU's four games in the Women's National Invitational Tournament, Mickens increased her average to 5.5 points per game.

Newcomer Award:  Freshman guard Precious Hall (Tallahassee, Fla./Maclay School).  Hall was a unanimous selection for CAA Rookie of the Year.  She averaged 9.6 points, 1.5 assists and 1.2 steals per game.

JMU finished the season with a 25-11 record and advanced to the WNIT quarterfinals.

Back to Women's Basketball
JMU Marketplace
TicketsOnline StoreAuctionsPhoto StoreMobile
Social Connection
Sign up for E-News