Ticket Office Information
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Merch Madness
Courtesy:JMUSports.com Release:12/22/2010
Courtesy: JMUSports.com
HARRISONBURG, Va., Dec. 22, 2010 -- Four James Madison women's soccer players have been named to the 2010 Division I All-State Team, as selected by members of the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID).

Senior midfielder Teresa Rynier (Leola, Pa./Conestoga Valley) and redshirt junior defender Jessica Barndt (Novi, Mich./Novi) received First-Team honors, and senior forward Cate Tisinger (Clifton, Va./Centreville) and redshirt senior goalkeeper Diane Wszalek (West Chester, Pa./West Chester East) were named to the Second Team.

Rynier won All-State First Team honors for the fourth year in a row.  She led both state and Colonial Athletic Association players in assists (13) and tied for state lead in points (31).  Her 53 career assists set JMU, state and CAA records.  The NSCAA All-America was also named to the NSCAA All-Mid-Atlantic Region First Team for the second year in a row.  She also won All-CAA First Team recognition for the third straight season.

Barndt won her first All-State recognition.  She was an All-CAA selection and anchored a defense that recorded eight shutouts and a 1.07 goals-against average.

Tisinger earned her second All-State honor but her first since 2007.  She is a two-time NSCAA All-Mid-Atlantic Region honoree and a three-time All-CAA selection.

Wszalek was named All-State for the first time.  The NSCAA All-Mid-Atlantic Region goalkeeper and CAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player set school records for season shutouts (8), career goals-against average (1.128), career solo shutouts (24) and career total shutouts (30).  She was also an All-CAA selection in 2010.

Virginia midfielder and Hermann Trophy semifinalist Sinead Farrelly was tabbed the State Player of the Year, Richmond freshman Becca Wann was voted the Rookie of the Year and Virginia Head Coach Steve Swanson was honored as the Coach of the Year.

Farrelly was an NSCAA First Team All-America and Atlantic Coast Conference Offensive Player of the Year.
Wann, the Atlantic 10 Conference Rookie of the Year led her team in scoring with 10 goals and 21 points.

Swanson guided Virginia (15-5-2) to a NCAA Round of 16 appearance and a No. 9 ranking in the NSCAA's final poll.

All-State Women's Soccer Honors
Player of the Year

Sinead Farrelly, Virginia
Rookie of the Year
Becca Wann, Richmond
Coach of the Year
Steve Swanson, Virginia

First Team

Omolyn Davis, George Mason
Meghan Lenczyk, Virginia 
Lindsey Ottavio, Longwood
Sinead Farrelly, Virginia 
Teresa Rynier, James Madison
Mallory Schaffer, William and Mary
Jessica Barndt, James Madison
Myriam Bouchard, Virginia Commonwealth
Diana Weigel, William and Mary
Chantel Jones, Virginia 
At Large
Aimee Luurtsema, Forward, Liberty

Second Team

Lauren Alwine, Virginia 
Cate Tisinger, James Madison
Becca Wann, Richmond
Cortlyn Bristol, William and Mary
Kelly Conheeney, Virginia Tech
Latrice Lee, Radford
Tyler Drake, Radford 
Morgan Stith, Virginia 
Kelly Thomas, George Mason
Che' Brown, Radford
At Large
Diane Wszalek, James Madison

Back to Women's Soccer
JMU Marketplace
TicketsOnline StoreAuctionsPhoto StoreMobile
Social Connection
Sign up for E-News