Ticket Office Information
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Merch Madness
Casey AncarrowCourtesy: Cathy Kushner/JMU Athletics Communications
Ancarrow Among Nominees for National Lacrosse Player of Year
Courtesy:JMUSports.com Release:04/26/2013
WASHINGTON, D.C., April 26, 2011 -- James Madison redshirt senior Casey Ancarrow (Jarrettsville, Md./John Carroll) is among 25 nominees for the 2013 Tewaaraton Award, given to the nation's top college lacrosse player.

The Tewaaraton Award is presented annually following the collegiate season to the top female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse players in the United States.  Tewaaraton is the name the Mohawk Indian nation gave to its game and the progenitor of present-day lacrosse.

Ancarrow was named to the Tewaaraton Award watch list in February.  The Dukes attacker has been on the watch list three times (2011, 2012, 2013) and was also among the nominees in 2011.

Five Tewaaraton finalists will be announced in mid-May. The award will be presented on May 30 at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

Ancarrow, an attacker, is the 2013 Colonial Athletic Association preseason Player of the Year, a 2011 and 2012 Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association All-America honoree and a former member of the U.S. National Team. She was the CAA Player of the Year in 2012.

She current ranks fifth on JMU's career list in goals (159), ninth in assists (61), fifth in points (220) and eighth in draw controls (119).

This marks the 12th time since 2002 that a JMU player has been in the running for the Tewaaraton Award. In JMU history, Dukes' players under consideration for the Tewaaraton include Mary Kate Lomady (2011 watch list), Kim Griffin (2010 nominee), Annie Wagner (2008 watch list), Kelly Berger (2007 nominee), Ashlee Dardine (2005 watch list), Gail Decker (2003 nominee, 2004 finalist) and Lisa Staedt (2002 nominee, 2003 finalist). 

2013 Tewaaraton Award Nominees
Casey Ancarrow, James Madison - Sr., A
Alex Aust, Maryland - Sr., A

Becca Block, Syracuse - Sr., D
Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina - Sr., M
Demmianne Cook, Stony Brook - Sr., M
Kitty Cullen, Florida - Sr., A
Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins - Jr., A
Brittany Dashiell, Florida - Sr., M
Jasmine DePompeo, Navy - Sr., A
Danielle Etrasco, Boston University - Sr., A
Erin Fitzgerald, Northwestern - Sr., A
Shannon Gilroy, Florida - Soph., M
Kerrin Maurer, Duke - Soph., A
Maggie McCormick, Penn State - Soph., A
Mikey Meagher, Florida - Sr., GK
Alyssa Murray, Syracuse - Jr., A
Marlee Paton, Loyola - Jr., M
Mikaela Rix, Boston College - Soph., M
Iliana Sanza, Maryland - Sr., D
Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland - Sr., M
Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame - Soph., D
Caroline Tarzian, Georgetown - Soph., A
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern - Sr., M
Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse - Sr., A
Taylor Virden, Duke - Jr., D

Back to Baseball
JMU Marketplace
TicketsOnline StoreAuctionsPhoto StoreMobile
Social Connection
Sign up for E-News