Ticket Office Information
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Merch Madness
Bjarki Ađalsteinsson Courtesy: Cathy Kushner/JMU Athletics Communications
Men's Soccer's Ađalsteinsson is Virginia Rookie of the Year
Courtesy:JMUSports.com Release:02/14/2013

HARRISONBURG, Va., Feb. 14, 2013 - The Virginia men's soccer Rookie of the Year honor belongs to James Madison freshman Bjarki Aðalsteinsson (Kópavogur, Iceland/Menntaskóinn í Kópavogi).

The all-state recognitions, voted by members of the Virginia Sports Information Directors Association, included Aðalsteinsson and Dukes senior midfielder Paul Wyatt (Modbury, England/Ivybridge) on the All-Virginia First Team.

Aðalsteinsson was an All-Colonial Athletic Association First Team and CAA All-Rookie Team selection in 2012.  Nationally, he was tabbed to College Soccer News' All-Freshmen Second Team.  During the week of Sept. 16, he earned Eastern College Athletic Conference Player of the Week and CAA Rookie of the Week honors for his defensive efforts in a 1-0 win over top ranked North Carolina.

He's only the second player in JMU history to earn the VaSID rookie honor, joining CJ Sapong, who was the award in 2007. 

Wyatt, a 2011 All-America selection, was a four-time All-CAA honoree and was named to the NSCAA All-South Atlantic Region First Team twice.  He was the Dukes' leading scorer with nine goals and 21 points and finished his career ranked 12th all-time at JMU in goals (28) and 17th in points (67).

Virginia Commonwealth junior Jason Johnson was selected Player of the Year and VCU coach Dave was named Coach of the Year.  Johnson was the 2012 Atlantic 10 Offensive Player of the Year and an NSCAA Mid-Atlantic All-Region First Team honoree.   Giffard enjoyed his most successful season since taking over at VCU in 2010 as t Rams returned to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2004 and reached a conference championship game for first time since 2003.

The Virginia Sports Information Directors name 27 all-state teams in 15 sports each year, as well as an academic all-state squad and an all-sports champion in both the university and college divisions.  Membership in VaSID is open to all media relations professionals working at a university or conference in the state of Virginia.
VaSID All-State Honors
Coach of the Year - Dave Giffard, Virginia Commonwealth
VaSID Player of the Year -
Jason Johnson, Jr., Virginia Commonwealth
VaSID Rookie of the Year - Bjarki Aðalsteinsson, Fr., JMU

First Team
D - Bjarki Aðalsteinsson, Fr., JMU
D - Uruah Bentick, Sr., Liberty
D - Greg White, Sr., Liberty
D - Scott Thomsen, Fr., Virginia
M - Chris Harmon, Sr., Old Dominion
M - Bernardo Ulmo, Jr., Radford
M - Paul Wyatt, Sr., JMU
F - Will Bates, Sr., Virginia
F - Tim Hopkinson, Jr., Old Dominion
F - Jason Johnson, Jr., Virginia Commonwealth
G - Victor Francoz, Sr., Old Dominion 
Second Team
D - Zach Carroll, Fr., Virginia
D - Dennis Castillo, Fr., Virginia Commonwealth
D - Alex De John, Sr., Old Dominion
M - Alex Herrera, Jr., George Mason
M - Jordan LeBlanc, Sr., Old Dominion
M - Mario Herrera Meraz, So., Virginia Commonwealth
M - Romena Bowie, Jr., Virginia Commonwealth
F - Taylor Morgan, Sr., George Mason
F - Timi Mulgrew, So., George Mason
F - Kyle Breitmeyer, Jr., Liberty
G - Ryan Taylor, Sr., Radford
Back to Baseball
JMU Marketplace
TicketsOnline StoreAuctionsPhoto StoreMobile
Social Connection
Sign up for E-News