Ticket Office Information
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Merch Madness
Casey AncarrowCourtesy: Cathy Kushner/JMU Athletics Communications
Lacrosse's Ancarrow on National Player of Year Watch List
Courtesy:JMUSports.com Release:02/24/2013
WASHINGTON, D.C., Feb. 22, 2013 -- James Madison redshirt senior Casey Ancarrow(Jarrettsville, Md./John Carroll) is among 50 players named to the watch list for the 2013 Tewaaraton Trophy, given to the nation's top college lacrosse player.

The Tewaaraton Trophy is presented annually following the collegiate season to the top female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse players in the United States.  Tewaaraton is the name the Mohawk Indian nation gave to its game, the forerunner of present-day lacrosse.

This annual watch list is made up of the top players across all three NCAA divisions of collegiate competition.  

Ancarrow, an attacker, is the 2013 Colonial Athletic Association preseason Player of the Year, a Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association All-America honoree and a former member of the U.S. National Team.  She was the CAA Player of the Year in 2012.

In 2011 and 2012 Ancarrow was also named to the Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List.,  In 2011 she was among 24 athletes from the Watch List to be nominated for the Tewarraton Trophy.

"The national reach of quality players is evident in this list, with players from all regions of the country,
along with a strong group of eight former winners and finalists," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of The
Tewaaraton Foundation. "As the season unfolds, we are excited for another deserving group of
Tewaaraton Award candidates to emerge."

In late April the Tewaaraton selection committee will narrow the list to 25 nominees, and in mid-May five finalists will be announced.  

This marks the 12th time since 2002 that a JMU player has been in the running for the Tewaaraton Trophy.  Others include Mary Kate Lomady (2011), Kim Griffin (2010), Annie Wagner (2008), Kelly Berger (2007), Ashlee Dardine (2005), Gail Decker (2003, 2004) and Lisa Staedt (2002, 2003).  Decker was one of five finalists in 2004 and Staedt was one of five finalists in 2003.

The award will be presented on May 30 at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. 

2013 Tewaaraton Award Watch List
Casey Ancarrow, James Madison - Sr., A
Alex Aust, Maryland - Sr., A
Courtney Bennett, Dartmouth - Sr., D
Becca Block, Syracuse - Sr., D
Katie Bollhorst, Salisbury - Sr., A
Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina - Sr., M
Tatum Coffey, Penn State - Soph., M
Demmianne Cook, Stony Brook - Sr., M
Kitty Cullen, Florida - Sr., A
Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins - Jr., A
Brittany Dashiell, Florida - Sr., M
Alexa Demski, Towson - Sr., D
Jasmine DePompeo, Navy - Sr., A
Maria Di Fato, Cortland - Sr., M
Tori Dugan, West Chester - Sr., A
Megan Dunleavy, Virginia - Sr., D
Danielle Etrasco, Boston University - Sr., A
Sam Farrell, Florida - Sr., D
Katie Ferris, Massachusetts - Jr., A
Caitlin Fifield, Richmond - Sr., A
Erin Fitzgerald, Northwestern - Sr., A
Emily Garrity, North Carolina - Sr., M
Kristin Giovanniello, Dartmouth - Jr., GK
Anna Kim, Stanford - Jr., M
Kim Kolarik, Virginia - Sr., GK
Tayler Kuzma, Ohio State - Jr., D
Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern - Jr., M
Megan Leonhard, Trinity - Sr., M
Lauren Maksym, North Carolina - Sr., GK
Kelly McPartland, Maryland - Soph., M
Mikey Meagher, Florida - Sr., GK
Maddy Morrissey, Duke - Jr., M
Lyndsey Munoz, Stanford - Jr., GK
Alyssa Murray, Syracuse - Jr., A
Ariana Parker, Albany - Jr., M
Marlee Paton, Loyola - Jr., M
Claire Petersen, Stony Brook - Sr., A
Maddie Poplawski, Penn - Sr., M
Caroline Salisbury, Cornell - Sr., A
Iliana Sanza, Maryland - Sr., D
Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland - Sr., M
Jaclyn Sileo, LIU-Post - Jr., A
Margaret Smith, Notre Dame - Jr., M
Covie Stanwick, Boston College - Soph., A
Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame - Soph., D
Megan Takacs, Cal - Sr., A
Sophia Thomas, Georgetown - Sr., M
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern - Sr., M
Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse - Sr., A
Taylor Virden, Duke - Jr., D

Back to Women's Lacrosse
JMU Marketplace
TicketsOnline StoreAuctionsPhoto StoreMobile
Social Connection
Sign up for E-News