Ticket Office Information
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Merch Madness
Paul WyattCourtesy: Photography/JMU Athletics Communications
Four Men's Soccer Dukes Win CAA Postseason Honors
Courtesy:JMUSports.com Release:11/08/2012

PHILADELPHIA, Nov, 8, 2012 - Four James Madison men's soccer players were honored by the Colonial Athletic Association Thursday night.

Senior midfielder Paul Wyatt (Modbury, England/Ivybridge) and freshman defender 
Bjarki Aðalsteinsson (Kópavogur, Iceland/Menntaskóinn í Kópavogi) were named to the All-CAA First Team, and redshirt senior midfielder Christian McLaughlin (Herndon, Va./Herndon) was voted to the All-CAA Third Team.

Aðalsteinsson and sophomore forward Josh Grant (Plymouth, England/Torpoint College) both earned CAA All-Rookie Team recognition.

The All-CAA Teams, selected in voting by the league's head coaches, were presented on the eve of the semifinals of the CAA Championship.

Wyatt, a 2011 All-America selection, is only the third player in JMU men's soccer history to win All-CAA honors four times.  He joins Kevin Knight (1995-98), and CJ Sapong (2007-2010) in that elite group.  Wyatt was also a first-team honoree in 2011, was named to the second team in 2010 and was a third-team selection in 2009.  He is the Dukes' leading scorer with nine goals and 21 points.

Aðalsteinsson is only the second JMU men's soccer player to earn All-CAA first-team recognition as a freshman, joining Sapong, a first-team honoree in 2007.  He has started all 18 games and anchors a JMU defense that is allowing only a goal a game and has recorded five shutouts.

McLaughlin is a key force for the Dukes in midfield and JMU's assist leader with four.  He earned All-CAA recognition for the second straight year after being selected to the All-CAA Third Team in 2011.

Grant, who has started 17 games, ranks second on the team in scoring with seven goals and 15 points.  He leads the Dukes in game-winning goals with four.

JMU takes a 9-6-3 record into Friday's CAA semifinals, where the third-seeded Dukes meet second-seeded Northeastern in a 5 p.m. match.  Top-seeded and tournament host Drexel plays number four seed Hofstra in the second semifinal at 7:30 p.m.  The championship match is scheduled for 2 p.m. Sunday at Drexel.

Northeastern senior forward Don Anding was selected CAA Player of the Year, and Northeastern sophomore defender Simon Cox and Hofstra junior defender Shaun Foster were chosen as the CAA Co-Defensive Players of the Year. Hofstra freshman midfielder Joseph Holland was named the CAA Rookie of the Year. Northeastern's Brian Ainscough and Drexel's Doug Hess were voted CAA Co-Coaches of the Year.

Anding led the conference with 28 points and ranked second in the league in goals (11), assists (6) and game-winning goals (5).

Cox anchored a Huskies' defense that surrendered just 15 goals in 17 matches and recorded seven shutouts. Foster, the first three-time winner of the CAA Defensive Player of the Year award, was the leader of a Hofstra defense that allowed only 21 goals in 19 contests and posted seven shutouts.

Holland was Hofstra's second-leading scorer with six goals and ranked third on the team with 14 points.

Ainscough guided Northeastern to an 11-2-4 overall record and a second-place finish in CAA.  Hess led Drexel to a 12-2-3 overall record and first place in the CAA regular-season standings.

2012 All-CAA Men's Soccer
* - All-CAA First Team in 2011, # - All-CAA Second Team in 2011,   % - All-CAA Third Team in 2011

Player, School, Cl., Pos., Hometown/Previous School
First Team
Don Anding, Northeastern, Sr., F, Amity Harbor, N.Y./Chaminade
Olakunle Banjo, Towson%, Jr., F, Upper Marlboro, Md./Largo
Tim Hopkinson, Old Dominion#, Jr., F, Nottingham, England/Rushcliffe School
Taylor Morgan, George Mason%, Sr., F, Southampton, England/Tauntons College
Jamie Dell, UNCW, So., M, Chapel Hill, N.C./Chapel Hill
Chris Harmon, Old Dominion, Sr., M, Downingtown, Pa./Downingtown West
Nathan Page, Drexel, Jr., M, Norwich, England/Norwich
Paul Wyatt, James Madison*, Sr., M, Modbury, England/Ivybridge
Simon Cox, Northeastern, So., D, London, England/London Nautical
Shaun Foster, Hofstra*, Jr., D, Southport, England/Stanley
Bjarki Aðalsteinsson, James Madison, Fr., D, Kopavogur, Iceland/Menntaskolinn i Kopavogi
Oliver Blum, Northeastern, Sr., G, North Yarmouth, Maine/Greely

Second Team
Chris Griebsch, Hofstra%, Jr., F, Dessau-Rosslau, Germany/Jena
Maid Memic, Hofstra, So., F, Kozarac, Bosnia/Voss Gymnas
Timi Mulgrew, George Mason, So., F, Sterling, Va./Great Falls
Joseph Holland, Hofstra, Fr., M, London, England/Lewisham College
Jordan LeBlanc, Old Dominion, Sr., M, Haverford, Pa./The Haverford School
Dante Marini, Northeastern*, Jr., M, Chadds Ford, Pa./Salesanium School
Ken Tribbett, Drexel#, Jr., M, Centennial, Colo./Grandview
Tal Bublil, Drexel, Jr., D, Kfar-Mass, Israel/Makif Yahud
Alex DeJohn, Old Dominion, Sr., D, Marlboro, N.J./Marlboro
Ambry Moss, Northeastern, So., D, Nassau, Bahamas/The Pendleton School
Tobias Muller, Delaware, So., D, Steinfurt, Germany/Bunsen Gymnasium
Tim Washam, Drexel, Sr., G, Warminster, Pa./William Tennent

Third Team
Gideon Asante, Old Dominion*, Jr., F, Sunyani, Ghana/Shattuck-St. Mary's Academy
Fabio Machado, Drexel, So., F, Leominster, Mass./Leominster
William Mellors-Blair, Georgia State, Fr., F, Nottingham, England/Nottingham Bluecoat School
Jonathan Eckford, Northeastern, Jr., M, Bradenton, Fla./Manatee
Alex Herrera, George Mason, Jr., M, Arlington, Va./Yorktown
Jamal Keene, Georgia State%, Jr., M, Atlanta, Ga./Hiram
Christian McLaughlin, James Madison%, Sr., M, Herndon, Va./Herndon
Chris Locandro, Georgia State*, Jr., D, Kennesaw, Ga./The Walker School
Hugh Roberts, George Mason, Jr., D, Olney, Md./Our Lady of Good Counsel
Will Smith, William & Mary#, Jr., D, Avon, Conn./Westminster School
Victor Francoz, Old Dominion#, Sr., G, Fleur Sur Saone, France

All-Rookie Team
Bjarki Aðalsteinsson, James Madison, Fr., D, Kopavogur, Iceland/Menntaskolinn i Kopavogi
Colin Bonner, UNCW, Fr., F, Fulton, Md./Reservoir
Terence Carter, Northeastern, Fr., F, London, England/London Nautical
Ryan Condotta, Old Dominion, Fr., M, Keller, Texas/Keller
Donovan Fayd'Herbe de Maudave, NU, So., F, Johannesburg, South Africa/Barking Abbey
Josh Grant, James Madison, So., F, Plymouth, England/Torpoint College
Ryan Harmouche, George Mason, Fr., F/M, Annandale, Va./Robinson Secondary
Joseph Holland, Hofstra, Fr., M, London, England/Lewisham College
William Mellors-Blair, Georgia State, Fr., F, Nottingham, England/Nottingham Bluecoat School
Felix Petermann, Towson, Fr., G, Berlin, Germany/Flatow-Oberschule

2012 CAA Player of the Year: 
Don Anding, Northeastern
2012 CAA Co-Defensive Players of the Year:  Simon Cox, Northeastern and Shaun Foster, Hofstra
2012 CAA Rookie of the Year:
 Joseph Holland, Hofstra
2012 CAA Co-Coaches of the Year:  Brian Ainscough, Northeastern and Doug Hess, Drexel

Back to Men's Soccer
JMU Marketplace
TicketsOnline StoreAuctionsPhoto StoreMobile
Social Connection
Sign up for E-News