Ticket Office Information
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Merch Madness
Former JMU All-American Haley Elected to College Football Hall of Fame
Courtesy:JMUSports.com Release:05/27/2011
Courtesy: JMUSports.com

HARRISONBURG, Va. - Former James Madison football All-American Charles Haley was elected to the College Football Hall Of Fame Divisional Class of 2011 on Tuesday.  He becomes the first ever JMU player to be elected to the Hall.

Haley was a four year starter at JMU from 1982-85.  He was a two-time All-American and a three-time Defensive MVP at Madison.  As a senior at JMU, Haley was voted a 1985 Associated Press First-Team I-AA All-American and both the Richmond Touchdown Club and Roanoke Times & World News' State Defensive Player of the Year.  He leads JMU's all-time tackles list with 506, including three seasons of more than 100 tackles, and his 22 tackles at Shippensburg during the 1983 season still ranks as the eighth-highest single-game total in JMU history.  He also added three interceptions and 17 quarterback sacks to his total.

In 1986, after his senior season Haley was selected in the fourth round of the NFL Draft by the San Francisco 49ers, as he was the No. 96 pick overall, the highest ever in school history. The first ever JMU player to be drafted into the NFL, Haley went on to become the only player in the league's history to win five Super Bowls, two with the 49ers and three with the Dallas Cowboys. He was also selected to five Pro Bowls during his career, as well as being a two-time First-Team All-Pro and 1990 NFC Defensive Player of the Year.  He finished his professional career with 100.5 sacks, including a career-high 16 in 1990.  He had eight fumble recoveries and scored one touchdown in the NFL. He retired in 1999 before becoming an assistant coach for the Detroit Lions.

A 2006 inductee to the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame and a member of the JMU Sports Hall of Fame, the Dallas native has also served as a recruiter for the National Marrow Donor Program.

Haley, along with fellow divisional inductees Dexter Coakley, Mike Favor, Mickey Kobrosky, Mike Kelly, and Bill Manlove will be officially inducted at the Enshrinement Festival in South Bend, Indiana July 15-16, 2011.

2011 Divisional College Football Hall Of Fame Class
- Charles Haley - James Madison University, LB (1982-85)
- Dexter Coakley - Appalachian State, LB (1993-96)
- Mike Favor - North Dakota State, C (1985-88)
- Mickey Kobrosky - Trinity (Conn.), B (1933-36)
- Mike Kelly - University of Dayton, Coach (1981-2007) - 246-54-1 (81.9%)
- Bill Manlove - Widener (Pa.) (1969-91), Delaware Valley (Pa.) (1992-95), La Salle (1997-2001) Coach - 212-111-1 (65.5%)

Back to Football
JMU Marketplace
TicketsOnline StoreAuctionsPhoto StoreMobile
Social Connection
Sign up for E-News