Ticket Office Information
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Merch Madness
Head Coach Mickey Matthews leads the Dukes for the 14th season.Courtesy: Cathy Kushner/JMU Athletics Communications
Football To Open Preseason Camp August 6
Courtesy:JMUSports.com Release:08/02/2012
RELATED LINKS

HARRISONBURG, Va. - The James Madison football team will start its preparation for the 2012 season on Monday, August 6, in Harrisonburg, welcoming back more the 40 letterwinners, more than 35 freshmen and redshirt freshman along with several transfers.

Over the three weeks until school starts, the Dukes will hold 18 practice sessions along with numerous meetings, strength training, conditioning and special teams work. All practices are open to the public and will be held at either Bridgeforth Stadium or the grass practice fields, depending on weather and field conditions.

This season, JMU was picked to finish third in the Colonial Athletic Association in the league's preseason poll by coaches and media relations personnel, behind defending champion Towson and Old Dominion. Both programs will have to come to Harrisonburg this season for nationally-televised games, as the Tigers will play JMU on Oct. 6 and the Monarchs will make their first and possibly last appearance in Bridgeforth Stadium on Nov. 17. Both games will be part of the CAA's television package, as the Dukes are currently slated for five televised games, including the previously-mentioned pair of national TV games on the NBC Sports Network

Madison returns 17 starters to this year's team, including four Preseason All-CAA selections in redshirt-senior offensive lineman Earl Watford (Philadelphia, Pa./Simon Gratz), redshirt-senior h-back/tight end Brian Barlow (Stephens City, Va./Sherando), redshirt-junior linebacker Stephon Robertson (Alexandria, Va./Edison) and redshirt-junior return specialist/running back Dae'Quan Scott (Staunton, Va./Robert E. Lee). 

The schedule for leading up to the opener on Sept. 1 against Saint Francis (Pa.) in Bridgeforth Stadium is as follows (schedule and type of practice subject to change):

Monday, August 6 - 2:30-5:15 p.m. (Helmets and Shorts)
Tuesday, August 7 - 2:30-5:15 p.m. (Helmets and Shorts)
Wednesday, August 8 - 2:30-5:15 p.m. (Helmets and Shoulder Pads)
Thursday, August 9 - 2:30-5:15 p.m. (Helmets and Shoulder Pads)
Friday, August 10 - Media Day - 11 a.m.-1 p.m.; 2:30-5:15 (Full Pads)
Saturday, August 11 - 9:30-11:45 a.m. (Full Pads)
Sunday, August 12 - Off
Monday, August 13 - 9:30-11:45 a.m. (Full Pads)
Tuesday, August 14 - 9:30-11:45 a.m. (Full Pads)
Wednesday, August 15 - 9:30-11:45 a.m. (Full Pads)
Thursday, August 16 - 9:30-11:45 a.m. (Full Pads)
Friday, August 17 - 9:30-11:45 a.m. (Full Pads)
Saturday, August 18 - Meet the Dukes Day - 10-11:30 a.m.; Autograph Session - 1 p.m.
Sunday, August 19 - Off
Monday, August 20 - 9:30-11:45 a.m. (Full Pads)
Tuesday, August 21 - 9:30-11:45 a.m. (Full Pads)
Wednesday, August 22 - 9:30-11:45 a.m. (Full Pads)
Thursday, August 23 - 10 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (Full Pads)
Friday, August 24 - 9:30-11:45 a.m. (Full Pads)
Saturday, August 25 - 9:30-11:45 a.m. (Full Pads)
Sunday, August 26 - Off
Monday, August 27 - Classes Begin / Normal Afternoon Practice Schedule Begins

Follow all the Dukes' Preseason Camp with post-practice video interviews with Head Coach Mickey Matthews and selected players along with selected photo gallery days.

Back to Football
JMU Marketplace
Auctions
TicketsOnline StoreAuctionsPhoto StoreMobile
Social Connection
Sign up for E-News